Switzerland, a member of the United Nations, functions according to a stable democratic system that separates the executive, legislative and judiciary powers.

The Swiss Confederation assembles 26 cantons which all profit from great political and administrative freedom of action. Each canton has its own constitution which is subordinated to the laws and to the federal constitution, established in 1848. Democracy is effective and each citizen can propose legal modifications via a referendum or a popular initiative.

Switzerland, although it is not part of the European Union, nevertheless assures its privileged ties thanks to solid bilateral agreements (150 in total). These agreements refer to the following areas:

  • free circulation of people
  • technical obstacles to business public markets
  • air transport
  • ground transport
  • agriculture
  • research
Find an actor
Print this page Download this page (PDF) Recommend this page to a friend

Contact us

BioAlps Association
Ch. du Pré-Fleuri 3
CH - 1228 Plan-les Ouates
+41 22 304 40 40
+41 22 304 40 70

Subscribe to our newsletter

Find us on LinkedIn